Back from the Dead

Thought I was dead?

Nah. I’m very much alive. Since I last posted… which was who knows when, I’ve actually done a lot. And I’m back. #ChefHunger is back.

Last time, I set some goals for myself. Maybe they were too lofty. Academics. Extra-Currics. Jobs. Life. Things get in the way, and well, this blog fell off my list of priorities.

As proof, here’s what I’ve done:

  • Co-Founded Dartmouth College – Spoon University.
    We’re a student food organization that allows for foodies, food lovers, and eaters of all kind to just enjoy food. I’m the Editor-in-Chief of our online food publication and occasionally assist in events/marketing. We got to tour a nearby high-end restaurant’s kitchen. We also held a damn amazing Launch Party. Yeah. Fuck yeah.

    Dartmouth College - Spoon University

    Dartmouth College – Spoon University

  • Worked on an actual food truck – The BOX Food Truck.
    We’re Hanover’s first food truck at Dartmouth College run by students, for students. People probably thought we’d fuck up because who can trust college students? But we’re awesome and our food is feeding the hungry students on campus. If you’re ever in the area, or just touring our damn awesome Ivy-ness (JK I’m not that stuck up, but actually, we made it into the tour script!) check us out and say hi to me!  Everything is made in house. The pitas are awesome. The Salted Chocolate Chip Oat Cookies are to die for. I also like the B.A.M. sandwich (bacon, asparagus, mozzarella, and tomatoes with a basil aioli sauce).

    The BOX Food Truck

    The BOX Food Truck

  • Interned at MOUTH.
    They’re super awesome!!! They curate the best indie food from makers. Suggestions… Billy Goat Potato Chips. Tate’s Cookies. Dulce de Leche Alfajores. Stroopwafels. As you can tell, I have a sweet tooth. If you’re in the 21+ crowd, they offer spirits & wine for you lucky ducklings!

    MOUTH

    MOUTH

  • Figured out my major & minors at Dartmouth!
    Yeup. I’ve figured it out. It still hasn’t been declared (I’m still “officially” an Economics & Anthropology double major with a Chinese minor). I’ve set my heart on a modified Economics majors looking into inequality with a Human-Centered Design minor & Chinese minor. What does that all mean? Hopefully a bomb-ass time during my remaining 2 years.
  • Been tweeting… and things have happened.
    Check me out on Twitter @VickyToriaLi. Tomorrow/Today (6/14), I’ll be live tweeting while hunting for Dominique Ansel Bakery’s Cronut, checking out Kara Walker’s A Subtlety at the Domino Sugar Refining Plant, and eating to my heart’s content at Smorgasburg. There’ll probably be food stops along the way since Hanover doesn’t quite satisfy my appetite. Follow along at #ChefHunger, because Hunger is the Best Chef here. (See that cheesiness?)
    Oh and by the way. I was awarded a Surface 2 tablet by Microsoft through their #WorkWonders campaign on education after tweeting at them. Yeah. Whaddup. Still have yet to receive it but… can’t wait to #WorkWonder with food (and do school work on it of course)!

For now, I think this is good enough. Next post will list some more manageable goals so I can keep my busy academic life and still maintain this blog.

Baby steps. Baby steps…

Leave a Reply

