Shandong(山东): Travel

While studying in Beijing, Dartmouth arranged several long trips to other places in China. The first destination was Tai’an (泰安) in the province of Shandong (山东) from September 28-29*. We rode the high speed rail there. I have to say, I wish America had this instead of having to take on huge road trips. Also, I never drove a car so I basically can’t go anywhere unless there’s public transportation or a chauffeur.

We went there to specifically visit Mountain Tai (Tai Shan 泰山). The teachers explained that only a couple of emperors made the trip to Mount Tai. It was for religious reasons I believe.

Riding the cable car

Riding the cable car

If we didn't have cable cars, we'd be like these 2 people crawling up. It's a LONG way up.

If we didn’t have cable cars, we’d be like these 2 people crawling up. It’s a LONG way up.

View after we get off the cable cart. Many small shops. Up so high!

View after we get off the cable cart. Many small shops. Up so high!

Pounding candy

Pounding candy

That line shows the clouds. Literally called the sea of clouds (yun hai 云海)

That line shows the clouds. Literally called the sea of clouds (yun hai 云海)

Locks and ribbons put up to wish for good luck.

Locks and ribbons put up to wish for good luck.

We found a dog!

We found a dog!

Heading back down. A LONG way down the stairs. Heres a view after a bit looking up at the top.

Heading back down. A LONG way down the stairs. Heres a view after a bit looking up at the top.

We bring a crowd everywhere we go because we are foreigners. But they all think I'm the tour guide. When I say I'm American, they look at me confused. When I say my parents are Chinese, then the world makes sense to them again.

We bring a crowd everywhere we go because we are foreigners. But they all think I’m the tour guide. When I say I’m American, they look at me confused. When I say my parents are Chinese, then the world makes sense to them again.

The day after, we went to Qufu (曲阜), the hometown of Confucius. There, we went to the Confucius Six Arts City, Confucius Temple, and Confucius Family Mansion. Confucius had such a great impact on China. Confucianism isn’t a religion, but rather a way to live life and maintain relationships. But don’t quote me on this; I’m no expert.

DSC_0576

DSC_0624 DSC_0595

Crazy classmates standing on each other.

Crazy classmates standing on each other.

Horse going :P

Horse going 😛

We then went to this weird place that was basically an amusement park based on Confucius. The man sitting in the center is Confucius teaching.

We then went to this weird place that was basically an amusement park based on Confucius. The man sitting in the center is Confucius teaching.

Strange rail car ride explaining Confucius.

Strange rail car ride explaining Confucius.

Why is there a dinosaur shown on this rail ride...

Why is there a dinosaur shown on this rail ride…

A ton of small models.

A ton of small models.

My name is Katniss Everdeen.

My name is Katniss Everdeen. (Photo Credit to Jaka Gaba)

Food pictures from Shandong will be posted in the next blog post. After returning from China, I’m realizing my memories are fading very quickly. Hopefully, this blog will serve as a reminder of what I experienced in China.

*I know I’m so late in posting. But better late than never. Just let your eyes feast on the pictures.

One thought on “Shandong(山东): Travel

  1. Pingback: A Quotation About Forgiveness From Confucius | Renard Moreau Presents

Leave a Reply

