Sky High Meals

It’s about time that I blog about the food I ate… on an airplane.

I’m just going to start out saying I’m probably not the most accurate source on this topic. I realized during this plane ride why I hate airplane food.

During my 14-15 hour flight from Chicago, USA to Beijing, China, I observed my tendencies and developed a theory. I usually have motion sickness, such as when riding the Dartmouth Coach back to NYC. I don’t get sick in cars or on the MTA subway/bus. Sometimes I get sick if there’s a certain smell in a car. But on a plane, I didn’t feel well.  I didn’t have a head-splitting headache or nausea, I just didn’t feel well. I pretty much slept the entire plane ride. It was awful.

When the food arrives on the cart, I made some observations as to what made me feel sick. Food with strong smells and flavors tend to taste horrible to me and makes me lose my appetite. While the elderly couple on my left and woman on my right scarfed down their food, I pushed mine aside and nibbled on the bread. Surprisingly, I liked nibbling on the cheese, which most people would think has a strong taste. I usually like cheese, even when on solid ground.

Chicken with vegetables. Salad, Bread. Pie (was REALLY delicious)

Chicken with vegetables. Salad, Bread. Pie (was REALLY delicious)

I was able to eat the carbs because there was minimal taste or smell. For my second meal, I selected the fried rice, which basically had no smell or taste. I devoured it since I was so hungry from not finishing the last meal.

Fried Rice. Fruits. Pasta (did NOT like). Muffin.

Fried Rice. Fruits. Pasta (did NOT like). Muffin.

I always knew that the worst part of riding a long plane ride were the meals, especially since this was my 5th time making the trip to China. Long plane rides means meals, which means going hungry for me.

I took the inaugural non-stop flight from Chicago to Beijing on Hainan Airlines. We were delayed for an hour. Which I was neither happy nor upset about, since I liked we were still on the ground so I can avoid feeling sick, but that meant I would get to China even later at night. I actually arrived 8:30 pm.

View from American Airlines from NYC to Chicago.

View from American Airlines from NYC to Chicago.

Landing in Chicago.

Landing in Chicago.

Fancy Hainan Airlines first class gets a red carpet...

Fancy Hainan Airlines first class gets a red carpet…

14-15 hours squished in these seats...

14-15 hours squished in these seats…

First flight by Hainan Airlines to Beijing from Chicago.

First flight by Hainan Airlines to Beijing from Chicago.

I’m pretty sure airplane food tastes fine when on Earth. But in the air? Motion sickness and food is not a good mix. I wonder if they test the taste of food on the ground or in the air…

What are your thoughts about airplane food? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

