Happy Mid-Autumn Festival! 中秋节快乐!

Today was my first time celebrating Mid-Autumn Festival, Zhong Qiu Jie (中秋节), in China. Probably the second time, since I had spent a year in China when I was 3 years old. But it’s not like anyone remembers their time as a toddler. I keep hearing stories of how cute I was and how I made my uncle very happy when I first said Jiujiu (舅舅) in Chinese. Guess I’m not that cute anymore. Haha. Judge for yourself.

20130718_132143

According to the lunar calendar, Mid-Autumn Festival happens on the 8th month on the 15th day, when the moon is at its roundest. This usually coincides with mid-September. This year, it occurred on September 21.

Foggy night but I caught a glimpse of the moon. Should be the roundest.

Foggy night but I caught a glimpse of the moon. Should be the roundest.

During this time, you’re supposed to visit your family, tuan yuan (团圆). When I celebrated this holiday in America, it involved only my immediate family. I never really knew my extended family so it was nice to eat dinner and moon cakes with my grandparents this year. I also gave my mother a call.

Dinner at my Grandma's home. Cucumber and Eggs. Bitter Melon. Duck.

Dinner at my Grandma’s home. Cucumber and Eggs. Bitter Melon. Duck.

You probably heard of Mid-Autumn Festival, or sometimes called Moon Festival, and the tradition of eating moon cakes. If you’ve ate a moon cake, you may have wondered why there is a random egg yolk in there and why it tastes so strange. There seems to be a general consensus from the people around me that moon cakes don’t taste that great. But what is the history behind this holiday?

Box of assorted moon cakes. Curry moon cake was even included.

Box of assorted moon cakes. Curry moon cake was even included.

There was once a time when suddenly 10 suns appeared. With 10 suns, it must have felt pretty hot. If you think summer is hot, then having 10 times that heat must be hell. Well, of course people were unhappy. Hou Yi (后羿) used a bow & arrow and shot down 9 suns, leaving 1 sun in the sky. Of course, this would take a lot of strength and courage, so he was rewarded by Empress Wang Mu with a medicine that would give him immortality. He decided to share it with his wife, Chang E (嫦娥).

That was the plan, until one of Hou Yi’s student decided to force Chang E into giving him the immortality medicine while Hou Yi was out teaching. Left with no other choices and not wanting to surrender the medicine to the evil student, she drank it and rose to the sky. She decided to stay on the moon, which was closest to her lover, Hou Yi. When he returned, he couldn’t find his wife. He looked and looked. By then, the evil student had escaped. One night, he saw something on the moon. It was his wife. He set some food and a round cake on the table. This is now known as the moon cake.

Moon cake.

Moon cake.

Cross section of moon cake. It was very rich so I only had half and saved the other one for later.

Cross section of moon cake. It was very rich so I only had half and saved the other one for later.

I heard this story from one of our teachers here at Beijing Normal University. For those who are familiar with this myth, there may be many versions and I’m interested in hearing of them. Comment below!

4 thoughts on “Happy Mid-Autumn Festival! 中秋节快乐!

  1. Pingback: The cake is a lie | Interesting times

  2. Pingback: Interesting times

  3. Pingback: Moon Cakes Galore 丰富多彩的月饼 | Hunger Is the Best Chef

  4. Pingback: Gutter Oil or Chinese Crepe (Jian Bing 煎饼) | Hunger Is the Best Chef

Leave a Reply

