Impromptu Sugar Cookies with Chocolate Chips

The awkward moments when you attend dinners with friends’ parents but you’re without your own parents. Then they offer to pay for your meal and you’re like… So awkward! but smile and nod. Well that happens and sometimes, you use that as an opportunity to bust out the flour, sugar, eggs, and chocolate chips to whip up something yummy. While also frantically searching for a recipe, finding out that you don’t have enough of each ingredient, realizing you have less than an hour left to get to an eye appointment and then… Oh wait. Oops, that’s just me!

Well here are the cookies that were the product of that frantic day, which resulted in me, with eyes dilated and blinded, walking through the streets of Queens and protecting these delicious cookies. It was about 2 pm when I left the eye doctor. When I walked out and opened my eyes, the entire world felt like an overexposed photo. So much light and dilated eyes meant everything just appeared white. I squinted my eyes while navigating myself through the crowd.

Sugar Cookies with Chocolate Chips
(Adapted from Easy Sugar Cookies Recipe from AllRecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • Flour (2 1/2 cups)
  • Baking Soda (1 teaspoon)
  • Baking Powder (1/2 teaspoon)
  • Butter, melted (13 teaspoon)
  • Raw sugar (1 cup)
  • 1 Large Egg
  • Vanilla Extract (Add as much as you like. I personally don’t like a strong vanilla flavor so added a small drizzle.)
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (1 handful)

Recipe

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. Mix the flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a small bowl. (These are your dry ingredients. Use a small bowl because it will be dumped into a larger bowl. Save yourself time later when doing the dishes!)
  3. Melt the butter. (Original recipe asks for the butter to be softened. I left it in microwave too long and it completely melted.)
  4. Mix the melted butter with the raw sugar. It won’t be smooth but rather you see it is mixed with the raw sugar spread out equally in the butter.
  5. Add the egg . Then drizzle in as much vanilla extract as you find suitable to your tasting.
  6. Add in the dry ingredients from the small bowl little at a time. (Make sure to mix slowly or else flour will fly everywhere!)
  7. Once everything is mixed, add in the chocolate chips and stir.
  8. Make small balls with the dough to the size you find desirable. (I only wanted to use one baking tray. My cookie balls became larger as I went because I tried to fit it all in! I ended up with 15 cookies in the end.)
  9. Cook in oven for 15-20 minutes. (Original recipe called for 8-10 minutes but because my cookies were larger, it took longer and I added increments of 5 minutes. Keep an eye on the cookies!)
Mixing the cookie batter

Mixing the cookie batter

Stirring in the chocolate chips

Stirring in the chocolate chips

Roll the batter into individual balls

Roll the batter into individual balls

 

Bake and... wait!

Bake and… wait!

Tada!

Tada!

 

As you can tell, the cookie size increases from left to right, as I was preparing each cooking from left to right.

As you can tell, the cookie size increases from left to right, as I was preparing each cooking from left to right.

Close up. I picked the smallest one to sample and saved the larger ones to give away.

Close up. I picked the smallest one to sample and saved the larger ones to give away.

 

Cross-section close up.

Cross-section close up.

Prepped to be given away!

Prepped to be given away!

Explanation for Changes to Original Recipe

  • Eggs. The original recipe called for 1 egg and I did use one, but one large egg. From that carton of eggs, I have had ones with two yolks and one with even three yolks! I’m assuming the egg I used had a larger volume.
  • Butter. The recipe called for 1 cup of butter, which is 2 sticks of butter. I had about 1.5 stick of butter and didn’t feel like opening another package of butter. So I used what I had.
  • Melted Butter. Total accident that it completely melted in the microwave. But everything worked out! I know butter temperature can matter a lot in pastry, such as it’s a must to have cold butter when creating flaky layers. I’m not sure what impact melted butter had versus softened butter.
  • Chocolate Chips. I had a handful of chocolate chips left, which I thought it was best to use now rather than let it sit in the pantry for who knows how long before someone notices it again. I tossed it in… which resulted in…
  • Sugar. I used less sugar than the 1.5 cups required. If I’m going to add chocolate chips, why add the same amount of sugar? The cookies will be sweetened by the chocolate!

Verdict

I personally thought the cookies were not as sweet. But then again, a lot of the cookies we eat from stores are very sweet and maybe I’m used to it. The cookies were in different sizes, obviously, since I made them like that in my effort to conserve space. The one I tried was really doughy like and puffy, which I liked. I think it was a success given the little time I had and limited ingredients. Definitely don’t need to follow a recipe by the word completely and you can still have a pretty good result. I’m not guaranteeing that so don’t come crying to me if your cookies are butchered. But I think this makes me less likely to buy store-made cookie dough. Hey, I can make my own! Power to me!

Friend’s Opinion

(I had 14 cookies left and divided them 7 cookies for each of the 2 families I would be eating dinner with that night. Below is the opinion of my friend on the cookies, who she and her sister ate some of the cookies before the dinner. Sounds like a good review!)

“The cookies were great. It was like a sugar-chocolate chip cookie hybrid. The decrease of sugar balanced out well with the addition of chocolate chips for sweetness. The consistency was fairly light as far as cookies go, and they were pretty puffy.” – Samantha Cheng

Leave a Reply

