FAST FOOD, ETC: Spicy Cumin Lamb Burger

Check out the review my friend, Shuo Cheng, wrote on my food review blog: Fast Food, Etc.! It’s written on the Spicy Cumin Lamb Burger from Xi’an Famous Foods which was popularized after its debut on the Travel Channel on Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations show.  So good we gave it 4 stars out of 5 and it’s only $3!!! The epitome of fast food, quick and cheap and delicious.

Spicy Cumin Lamb Burger

Spicy Cumin Lamb Burger

Here’s a funny story from yours truly. I saw the green pepper in the burger, as you can see above, and stupidly wondered if it was a jalapeño. Silly me, this is a Chinese restaurant, why would it have a Mexican ingredient? Of course I worried because I’ve had my fair shares of bad spicy stories. Let’s look into them:

At a buffet in Long Island called Minado, I had a sushi that caused me to tear up. No joke. There were so many sushi selections, I stupidly just grabbed a piece from each platter, not even giving a glimpse at their names. If I paid attention, I probably would have been clued in by the name for the spice levels of the sushis. I devoured them piece by piece, till I got to the one that killed me. I bit into it and the fire began. I immediately spat it out onto my plate. It was horrible. I teared up. I looked at my then-boyfriend with eyes screaming HELP! He has an insane spice tolerance level and didn’t seem to care. Honestly, he probably wouldn’t have noticed the spiciness if he tried. I speed walked to the ice cream section and got a bowl of green tea ice cream. It helped but I still could taste the faint spiciness still emanating from my burnt tongue. Stupid sushi.

Second time… At a Subway sandwich shop, not the public transportation subway, I asked for banana peppers but the woman misunderstood me and put in jalapeños. I asked her to switch it but she still didn’t understand. I just thought I could pick it out afterwards. I thought I had taken out all the pieces but when I took a bite, I ate a stray piece. Ouch.

I really have no spice tolerance.

Don’t worry. That green pepper was just a normal pepper. No spiciness, maybe a little, but the majority of the hotness came from the cumin. And it was delicious. Maybe I have raised my spice tolerance.

Leave a Reply

