Something Different… Part II (Jewelry)

Back again for something a little different. I decided I would continue with the DIY project. Although wrapping thread around a bracelet was really tedious, I was quite happy that I got myself to do it and now I have an interesting, andย unique, bracelet all to myself.

I had leftover embroidery thread at home and wanted to find a way to use it up. While scouring through Michael’s for another DIY project, I remembered that Studs and Pearls had a threaded wire necklace. I bought 24 gauge gold wire, gold chain, and round-nose jewelry pliers.

I made a necklace that said “hope” with the gray thread. I actually finished it rather quickly. The hard part was wrapping the thread. I don’t have any method of knowing how much of the wire to wrap, but because I didn’t have much gray thread, I just used it all up. It luckily turned out to ย be enough to spell “hope.” I ended up not using my gold chain and used an old necklace from Forever 21 that I haven’t worn. I shortened the chain so it would be hang at my neck rather than lower. I didn’t have pliers to split the chain so I used scissors.

Hope necklace in cursive

Hope necklace in cursive

When I returned home after wearing my new necklace, I decided to make more. Let’s say, I went on a jewelry making spree with my wire. Keychain. Rings. Bracelets.

For the keychains, I used Dartmouth lanyards that I got for free. I don’t use them so I just detached the keychain parts and hung my creations to them. For the rings, I was inspired by a gold wire ring that I bought in Manhattan last summer. I drew sketches of how I would I curve the wire and then attach the ends to form a ring. From there, I created more. I also used the ring idea to create a bracelet and made a clasp with the wire.

Love bracelet with embroidery thread wrapped around for color.

Love bracelet with embroidery thread wrapped around for color.

Love bracelets modeled.

Love bracelets modeled.

Clasp of the love bracelet.

Clasp of the love bracelet.

Start of the heart ring.

Start of the heart ring.

3 rings by themselves.

3 rings by themselves.

Modeling the 3 rings.

Modeling the 3 rings.

Just a chain with sweet spelled out and a ball charm.

Just a chain with sweet spelled out and a ball charm.

Penguin keychain requested by boyfriend...

Penguin keychain requested by boyfriend…

382567_10151970731587345_1341409265_n

Everything displayed.

Materials

  • Wire (I used 24 gauge gold)
  • Round-nosed pliers (to create round shapes with wire and to bend it)
  • Embroidery thread
  • Chain, keychain, etc. (I just used stuff that I had lying around. Repurpose your trash!)
  • Scissors (I used these to open the rings in the chains)
  • Paper and pencil (to sketch out designs and plan ahead)
  • Internet (I YouTubed some videos and Googled for inspiration.)
  • Creativity & Patience

I originally started this blog to explore cooking. But in the process, it has encouraged me to try other things I always wanted to do, such as DIY. I have been admiring this DIY blog for some time and now I finally took the time to actually do some. I’ve learned that I actually like making jewelry and am looking forward to spending time at the jewelry studio at Dartmouth next school year. Can’t wait.

I do have a passion for food. But it feels awkward to buy grocery when I have so much at home that my parents have already purchased. I think I’m going to think of ways to use what I already have at home to make recipes. That could mean a lot of Asian recipes since I have Asian ingredients at home or just a lot of creativity and substitutions.

Leave a Reply

