Dim Sum at Home

Home sweet home. It’s where you come home for a nice home-cooked meal. But sometimes, you crave for restaurant food. Stuff that you didn’t have to plan to make. Something you can wait in line and get your hands on someone else’s hard work in exchange for your money. You bring it home and open the white styrofoam packages to reveal the goodies. Sure, the thought of how environmentally friendly is all this packaging slips into your mind but, unfortunately, it quickly subsides as you devour the food with chopsticks, or at least I use this specific utensil.

I woke up this morning to dim sum that my mom had purchased. What is dim sum you ask? When I hear this, I associate it with sitting down at a large Chinese restaurant. There are waiters and waitresses pushing carts full of dim sum. They’re usually containers that are steamed and full of tiny bite sized treats. Sometimes they’re on plates as seen below in a picture I took during a dim sum outing last winter. Along with this comforting image, I usually am eating while peering over my table to see what other food is wheeling by me. Is thatΒ Nuo Mi Ji (sticky rice with chicken wrapped in lotus leaf)? Are those egg tarts?Β Xia jiao (shrimp dumplings)? Chicken feet?

Yes, you can eat chicken feet. I was first disgusted by the idea of eating feet that could have touched anything and refused it the many times I was offered by my family. When going to eat dim sum with friends, I saw them try it and gave it a try. Funny, how you don’t listen to your parents when they should be the people who you should trust the most.

Another note, I sometimes know the Chinese name but not the English translation. Such as for one of the dishes below, I wasn’t sure if it was leeks or chives. Google rescued the day and said it was chives. Sometimes, I might be talking in English but then the Chinese word comes into my head. I want to say this but I don’t know how to say it in English…

Still confused? Click here for Wikipedia’s take on dim sum.

The dishes arranged on a Lazy Susan table.

The dishes arranged on a Lazy Susan table. They should change that name. It’s not lazy to turn the top of the table. It’s more efficient.

Tian Bing as my mom calls it. She says this tastes similar to what she makes, which I like. Easier for her to buy than to make...

Tian Bing as my mom calls it. She says this tastes similar to what she makes, which I like. Easier for her to buy than to make… My mom makes it with peanut butter.

Shrimp dumplings.

Shrimp dumplings.

Vegetable and shrimp dumplings.

Vegetable and shrimp dumplings.

Cha Siu Bao (barbecue pork filled pastry or bun)

Cha Siu Bao (barbecue pork filled pastry or bun)

Nuo Mi Ji (sticky rice with chicken wrapped in lotus leaf). This one also had mushroom and sausage.

Nuo Mi Ji (sticky rice with chicken wrapped in lotus leaf). This one also had mushroom and sausage.

The three dishes below were not purchased from a dim sum place. My mom picked them up at a breakfast place that I like to go to. It’s a bit shady looking if I told you where it is but the food is affordable and delicious!

Dou Fu Nao. Apparently, the literal translation is "tofu brains." It's just tofu in some sauce with mushroom and black fungus.

Dou Fu Nao. Apparently, the literal translation is “tofu brains.” It’s just tofu in some sauce with mushroom and black fungus.

Jiu Cai He Zi. Kind of like an inside out pizza. The "toppings" are inside. Leek, cellophane noodles, egg, and tiny tiny shrimps.

Jiu Cai He Zi. Kind of like an inside out pizza. The “toppings” are inside. Chive, cellophane noodles, egg, and tiny tiny shrimps.

You can see the filling here.

You can see the filling here.

Here is a picture of the food and the restaurant I had ordered it at when I went in the winter. You can see the Dou Fu Nao, Jiu Cai He Zi, and You Tiao here.

Here is a picture of the food and the restaurant I had ordered it at when I went in the winter. You can see the Dou Fu Nao, Jiu Cai He Zi, and You Tiao here.

The food was slightly cold when they arrived home, obviously. If you were at a dim sum restaurant, the food would still be steaming. I didn’t eat all of the food so I cant say how they each tasted. I ate the shrimp dumplings and vegetable and shrimp dumplings. If you’ve ever had them elsewhere, it tastes exactly the same. I like the shrimp dumplings because the shrimp feels really plump and tender.

I also had the tofu soup, a.k.a. “tofu brains,” and it’s a delicious dish to also have with You Tiao, which is a fried strip of dough. I like to dip the dough into the soup and eat it. I would have liked it a bit spicier but when you order it at the restaurant, you can ask for more spiciness. It also tastes better when its hotter, as in the temperature.

Feel like I’m rambling here. Well my goal for this blog is to have a post per day. I have other food reviews ready but I thought I would write a post on this because I just had it an hour ago. Also, it’s something that I’m eating at home. I’d much rather go to a dim sum restaurant to dine on fresh food, but you have to wake up in the morning to go eat and sometimes wait in line. Sleep in and dine on warm food rather than hot food. Take your pick.

I’m a night owl so I tend to sleep late and wake up late. I would rather say I treasure sleep more so therefore I’d rather eat at home. But that depends on someone waking up and picking up the food… Thanks mom! But it’s quicker than an entire morning at a restaurant. However, if you go with friends, it’s a place to chat and socialize. Whereas eating at home during this situation was to just eat rather than to enjoy the moment.

One thought on “Dim Sum at Home

  1. Pingback: Dim-sum making l Saturday | Ohh, honey!

Leave a Reply

